Who To…Who Not To Listen To?

Directional-Arrow-Sign-Post-Vector_LIBe still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.
     Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret—it leads only to evil. For those who are evil will be destroyed, but those who hope in the Lord will inherit the land.
     A little while, and the wicked will be no more; though you look for them, they will not be found. But the meek will inherit the land and enjoy peace and prosperity.

~Psalm 37:7-11~

This morning I finished my devotions and then went on to Facebook to catch up on some of the messages from the different groups I’m a part of. I was heartsick and sad over some of the posts I read from individuals who are struggling with life and the uphill battle that seems to ensue for many, if not all of us. I wanted so desperately to embrace some of the individuals who are hurting so.

It doesn’t matter what walk of life you are from or where you are. Everyone has a story of heartache, grief, fear, pain, illness, or whatever. Some people handle the situations with grace and wisdom while others fight and claw for survival.

I look at the issues surrounding this life and I become overwhelmed and anxious. I get angry at the unfairness of things. It seems like those who are considered “good” suffer and those who are rude, obnoxious, and uncaring keep rising further and further. The pathway they tread is filled with the broken lives of those who suffer. Their footprints scar the weak and innocent.

Even the laws are no longer just. The world is filled with hedonism and selfishness. All that matters is happiness for the individual and ignore the cost that is paid by another in order for that happiness to be achieved.

It’s enough to make anyone pensive and depressed. The Bible reveals that these things are not new. The battle between good and evil has been around since the beginning of time.

Psalm 37 gives a vivid account to the contrasts between good and bad. No matter how things appear in this moment, there will come a time when we all will have to answer for our choices and our actions.

I believe God’s Word. I understand that “people” wrote the Bible but I also believe those people were INSPIRED by God to write those Words. I believe God’s Word to be full of life and truth. I believe there HAS to be something in this life to hold onto. There HAS to be a core foundation that must be adhered to. I also believe that core foundation is Jesus Christ and no one will ever convince me otherwise.

I have been through a lot and continue to battle an uphill climb. I had turned away from faith and was angry at God. I’m not now but I’ve been there. I also know that I would rather face each day being held in the loving and capable hands of my heavenly Daddy than struggle to do everything on my own. That’s a lonely and very discouraging walk.

Everyone needs to know who to and who not to listen to. I choose to listen to God. I may not always make the right choices and I will make mistakes and fall time and again. But I KNOW the ONE who holds my heart in His hands. I KNOW He understands and won’t misunderstand my motives or meanings. I don’t go out of my way to be misunderstood but I know it happens.

My desire is to know God more and to encourage others to be motivated and bold enough to do the same. Jeremiah 29:13 says, “You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all your heart.” When our heart desires truth and to find God, He will reveal Himself to us.

Who will you choose to listen to?

Leave a Reply

